Skip to main content

Caldecott Winners

Caldecott Winners

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association, awards the Caldecott Medal annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Picture books must have been published in the previous year and award winners are restricted to United States residents.

The Caldecott Award is named after Randolph Caldecott, an influential 19th-century children's book illustrator. His illustrations were unique for the time as they showed movement and joy among the children.

Award Winners 2010 - 2019

Award Winners 2000 - 2009

Award Winners 1990 - 1999

Award Winners 1980 - 1989

Award Winners 1970 - 1979

Award Winners 1960 - 1969

Award Winners 1950 - 1959

Award Winners 1940 - 1949

First Award Winners