Need Help?
Chicago Citations
The Chicago Manual of Style (call number Z253 .U69 2017) is the official guide to Chicago style. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library use. You may also access the Chicago Manual of Style online. There are two versions of Chicago style: Author-Date and Notes & Bibliography.
Notes & Bibliography will typically have the title component second within a citation, and uses footnotes and endnotes to refer to information within the paper, instead of in-text citations.
The following links and examples will help you create Chicago citations in the Notes & Bibliography style for the sources you need to cite.
Bibliography and Notes
The Notes and Bibliography style of Chicago has two parts. First, you will have a full bibliography at the end of your paper. This will include all sources you used as well as consulted (even if you didn't directly cite them in the paper). The reference style is Author first and Title second.
Secondly, as you refer to information within your paper, you will use notes. This takes the place of in-text citations. These may be footnotes (at the bottom of each page) or endnotes (at the end of the paper).
Bibliography entries and note entries have slightly different styles, so look at the examples carefully for each type.
Example Citations
Book
Citation Components
- Author: Bob Spitz
- Title: Barefoot in Babylon: The Creation of the Woodstock Music Festival, 1969
- Publication Location: New York
- Publisher: Penguin Group
- Publication Date: 2014
Bibliography Entry
Spitz, Bob. Barefoot in Babylon: The Creation of the Woodstock Music Festival, 1969. New York: Penguin Group, 2014.
Note Entry
1. Bob Spitz, Barefoot in Babylon: The Creation of the Woodstock Music Festival, 1969 (New York: Penguin Group, 2014).
Chapter in an Edited Book
Citation Components
- Author(s) of Chapter: Joan and Robert K. Morrison
- Title of Chapter: Woodstock Nation
- Page Range: 115-119
- Editor of Book: Theo Cateforis
- Title of Book: The Rock History Reader
- Publication Date: 2007
- Publication Location: New York
- Publisher: Routledge
Bibliography Entry
Morrison, Joan, and Robert K. Morrison. "Woodstock Nation." In The Rock History Reader, edited by Theo Cateforis, 115–119. New York: Routledge, 2007.
Note Entry
2. Joan Morrison and Robert K. Morrison, "Woodstock Nation," in The Rock History Reader, ed. Theo Cateforis (New York: Routledge, 2007).
eBook
Citation Components
- Author(s): Brad Littleproud, Joanne Hague, and Artie Kornfeld
- Title: Woodstock: Peace, Music & Memories
- Publication Location: Iola, WI
- Publisher: F+W Media
- Publication Date: 2009
- eBook Database Name: Ebook Central
Bibliography Entry
Littleproud, Brad, Joanne Hague, and Artie Kornfeld. Woodstock: Peace, Music & Memories. Iola, WI: F+W Media, 2009. Ebook Central.
Note Entry
3. Brad Littleproud, Joanne Hague, and Artie Kornfeld, Woodstock: Peace, Music & Memories (Iola, WI: F+W Media, 2009), Ebook Central.
Journal Article
Citation Components
- Authors: Amy Corning and Howard Schuman
- Article Title: Commemoration Matters: The Anniversaries of 9/11 and Woodstock
- Journal Title: The Public Opinion Quarterly
- Volume number: 77
- Issue number: 2
- Pages: 433-454
- Publication Date: 2013
- Database: JSTOR
- DOI or Permalink: doi:10.1093/poq/nft015
*DOIs can be found in the database record or on the front page of the article. If there is no DOI, use a permalink from within the database.
Bibliography Entry
Corning, Amy, and Howard Schuman. "Commemoration Matters: The Anniversaries of 9/11 and Woodstock." The Public Opinion Quarterly 77, no. 2 (2013): 433–454. https://doi.org/10.1093/poq/nft015.
Note Entry
4. Amy Corning and Howard Schuman, "Commemoration Matters: The Anniversaries of 9/11 and Woodstock," The Public Opinion Quarterly 77, no. 2 (2013): 433–454, https://doi.org/10.1093/poq/nft015.
Newspaper Article
Citation Components
- Author: Bill Kovach
- Article Title: Woodstock's a Stage, but Many Don't Care for the Show
- Title of Newspaper: New York Times (include the city in parentheses if not included in newspaper name)
- Date: July 9, 1969
- URL or Database: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
Bibliography Entry
Kovach, Bill. "Woodstock's a Stage, But Many Don't Care for the Show." New York Times, July 9, 1969. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times.
In the bibliography, if there is no author, use the newspaper name for the author.
Note Entry
5. Bill Kovach, "Woodstock's a Stage, But Many Don't Care for the Show," New York Times, July 9, 1969, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times.
Webpage
Citation Components
- Author: Rob Kirkpatrick
- Web Page Title: Pot, Skinny-Dipping, and Freedom Rock: Woodstock and the Year of the Outdoor Music Festival (Part 2)
- Website Title: PopMatters
- Publication Date: August 4, 2009
- URL of Web Page: https://www.popmatters.com/108471-pot-skinny-dipping-and-freedom-rock-woodstock-and-the-year-of-the-ou-2496059118.html
If there is no publication date, use the date you accessed the page.
Bibliography Entry
Kirkpatrick, Rob. "Pot, Skinny-Dipping, and Freedom Rock: Woodstock and the Year of the Outdoor Music Festival (Part 2)." PopMatters. August 4, 2009. https://www.popmatters.com/108471-pot-skinny-dipping-and-freedom-rock-woodstock-and-the-year-of-the-ou-2496059118.html.
Note Entry
6. Rob Kirkpatrick, "Pot, Skinny-Dipping, and Freedom Rock: Woodstock and the Year of the Outdoor Music Festival (Part 2)," PopMatters, published August 4, 2009, https://www.popmatters.com/108471-pot-skinny-dipping-and-freedom-rock-woodstock-and-the-year-of-the-ou-2496059118.html.