Accounting

Whitecotton, Managerial Accounting 3e and Connect present an integrated and proven solution designed to help attain course goals of student readiness and motivation, comprehension of content, and application of key concepts.

Ebook

A trusted resource on the complex ethical questions that define the accounting profession An accountant's practice depends on making difficult decisions. To achieve the best results, individual accountants and accounting firms need a clear understanding of the ethical duties and decision-making involved in the four major functions of modern accounting--auditing, management accounting, tax accounting, and consulting--as well as a strong sense of ethical conduct to guide the certification and validation of reliable financial records. Now in its third edition,

A practical, easy-to-read approach to Ethics for Accountants. Written by a CPA with both real world and academic credentials, the book contains numerous "What Would You Do" examples taken from real life experiences.

The most comprehensive guide to FASB Codifications, updated with the latest pronouncements Wiley GAAP 2019 is the essential resource for US GAAP implementation. Covering all codifications by the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)--including the latest updates--this book provides clear explanations and practical examples for real-world application of these dynamic guidelines. Each chapter includes relevant sources of GAAP and expert guidance on interpretation, terminology, relevant concepts, and applicable rules, while in-depth discussion on the issues surrounding specific pronouncements offers informative perspective for a variety of scenarios.

An essential guide for practitioners on avoiding unethical situations in a fraud investigation--provides tips, techniques, and real-life examples Credentialed accountants, auditors, and fraud examiners who fail to identify fraud and misconduct may be in violation of their professional standards. Among these standards are requirements to exercise professional and moral judgment, act in the best interest of the public, maintain integrity, objectivity, and independence, render opinions based on evidence and documentation, and exercise due care in planning and discharging professional activities. Failing to adhere to professional standards and ethical codes have serious consequences for CPAs, CFEs, and CIAs engaged in fraud investigations.

Ebook

The seventh edition of Birt's Accounting textbook is designed for the core accounting unit in a business or commerce degree. Many students who plan to major in soft-side disciplines such as marketing or human resource management need a clear and accessible text that emphasises the relevance of accounting to business.  The Accounting interactive e-text features a range of instructional media content designed to provide students with an engaging learning experience.

Accounting is often referred to as the language of business. Unfortunately, many business professionals lack the required fluency in this unique language to perform basic financial analysis, prepare budgetary forecasts, or to compare competing capital investment alternatives. This book targets individuals with limited exposure to--or formal training in--accounting and related finance disciplines.

An easy-to-use reference work that explains all steps in the payroll process, and the compliance requirements and best practices within each step. Intended audience: managers, owners, payroll staff, and outside professionals (attorneys, accountants). The content also is useful for any employee who wishes to understand his/her rights as an employee and the correct paycheck calculations for most job types. Examples support all calculation methods. Suitable for academic use.

The Routledge Handbook of Accounting Information Systems is a prestige reference work offering a comprehensive overview of the state of current knowledge and emerging scholarship in the discipline of AIS. The pace of technological driven change is rapid, and this revised edition provides a deeper focus on the technical underpinnings and organisational consequences of accounting information systems. It has been updated to capture the changes in technology since the previous edition.

The revolutionary effects of using accounting information systems by displacing manual information systems in the private and public sectors cannot be overstated. The benefits of this substitution of set of processes include increased mathematical accuracy, predefined fields and coding tasks, and de-emphasis of manual clerical labor in favor of labor adept in data processing. Reporting can be significantly automated, facilitating managerial power and control at a distance and the proliferation of global enterprises. The potential detriments are rarely accurately, completely, and timely addressed as information system vendors, management consultants, and corporate procurement teams race toward the popularly conceived state of the art. Systems are ballyhooed as continually improving in processing speed, functionality, and capacity. Users of these automated systems may not consider big picture effects, and they may not intelligently consider the conduct risks to their own enterprises by concentrating such global reach and influence at high levels of senior management without dedicating adequate resources to verifying the accuracy, completeness, and timeliness of the information systems. This book considers these risks.

Financial realities play an important role in many, if not most, management decisions made in healthcare organizations. Financial acumen is a critical professional competency for all healthcare managers, regardless of the functional area or setting they work in. Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance provides a solid grounding in the principles and tools of accounting and finance that managers use daily. From planning and budgeting to risk analysis and financial reporting, core concepts are clearly explained and supported by real-world examples. This fourth edition has been updated throughout to reflect the most recent payment models and current financial accounting standards. A new chapter describes the role that internal control and governance play in ensuring the accuracy of financial information, as well as strategies for identifying and preventing errors and fraud.

Gapenski's Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management explores how healthcare organizations manage financial operations to optimally provide patient care. This significantly revised edition of one of Health Administration Press's best-selling books introduces the key foundational elements of healthcare finance, including both accounting and financial management. Numerous examples throughout showcase how healthcare finance is practiced in a variety of organizations, including hospitals, medical practices, clinics, home health agencies, nursing homes, and managed care organizations. Authors Kristin L. Reiter and Paula H. Song emphasize not only financial theory and principles but also practical tools healthcare managers can use to make the crucial decisions that promote the financial well-being of their organization. Gapenski's Healthcare Finance examines the current financial environment in which providers operate, with an emphasis on health system design, healthcare insurance, and reimbursement methodologies. Dates, exhibits, references, and resources have been updated throughout. All examples and financial statements reflect current accounting and reporting standards. In a dynamic environment, healthcare leaders need to practice good financial decision-making for the health of their patients and the financial stability of their organization. From this book, current and future managers will understand the finance problems provider organizations face and how best to solve them.

An informative, easy-to-use guide to accounting fundamentals and concepts Everyone needs to budget money and manage costs, whether for groceries and everyday purchases, rent or mortgage, education, retirement, or even a business. Like it or not, accounting infuses most everything in life. From credits, debits, and basic bookkeeping to getting the most out of tax deductions and from reading or creating a business' financial statement to better understanding accounting lingo, The Handy Accounting Answer Book can help anyone acquire the skills to start or run a business, plan for retirement, set money aside for a big purchase, establish everyday budgets, and improve their money management.

Discover a new, graphical way to conquer accounting. HOW THIS BOOK IS DIFFERENT AND DELIVERS RESULTS The Joy of Accounting uses a revolutionary method of teaching that universities and businesses are raving about. "...has the advantage of showing how accounting works visually. ...I believe that it is of value to anyone who is interested in understanding how accounting works (from high school students to undergrads to MBAs to business executives)." - Paul Healy, James R. Williston Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School The Joy of Accounting is different. It uses a diagram that reveals accounting on a single page. The game-changing Color Accounting BaSIS Framework(TM) makes learning as simple as pointing a finger. The book is easy to read and enjoyable, yet rigorous. IS IT REALLY REVOLUTIONARY? Yes, the Color Accounting BaSIS Framework(TM) does for accounting what the mouse did for computers. When Apple introduced the first Mac, everyone could suddenly use a computer. The Joy of Accounting system means anyone get accounting. INCLUDES - An idiot-proof step-by-step sequence to follow - Over 150 full-color diagrams - Working capital, cash flow, liquidity, leverage, efficiency metrics, receivables management and depreciation. BENEFITS OF THE JOY APPROACH - Confidently read balance sheets and income statements - Take control of your profitability, cash flow and growth - Budget effectively - Revisit previous accounting studies for deeper understanding WHO IS THIS BOOK FOR? - Managers wanting to take control of their business - High school, home school and university students - School teachers and university lecturers looking for new ways of explaining - Sales people wanting to pitch more successfully by using financial drivers

This text discusses the pressures and decisions that influences changes in corporate reporting with emphasis given to the UK, the United Sates and Islamic countries. The book also discusses the impact of advances in technology on corporate reporting and we review the nature of information provided by companies to a wider audience than shareholders.

Focusing on research that examines both individual and organizational behavior relative to accounting, Advances in Accounting Behavioral Researchprovides an in-depth analysis and exchange of peer-reviewed knowledge across all areas of accounting behavioral research and the development, discussion, and expansion of theories from psychology, sociology, and related disciplines. From the effects of organizational commitment, the impact of stressors on performance, and responses to narcissism to the effects of auditor familiarity and the examination of personality traits, chapters in Volume 26 compile innovative and new explorations into the behavioral aspects of accounting and auditing. Working on both the individual and organizational level, this collection is essential reading for accounting students and educators, providing a unique, interdisciplinary forum with valuable insights on practice for those working in the field to better understand accounting domains.