Skip to main content

Tutorials

Video tutorials for library research strategies and resources.

Music Online Video Tutorial

Music Online from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and access music information through the library database Music Online.

To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

Music Online is listed alphabetically on the A-Z Databases page, or under the Fine Arts subject category. This database is ideal for beginning music research since it searches authoritative music reference books. To access this database, click its title.

To log in, your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number without the hyphen. Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your 8-digit SF ID number.

The Music Online homepage includes a search option and direct links to collections within the database. Collections include the African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, and the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. To search the entire database, type your search terms in the search box in the middle of the screen.

Search results will include entries from reference books, audio, and scores. You may limit your search with the options under Refine Your Search. Click the title of an entry to view it.

The full entry appears. Your search terms will be highlighted in purple. This example shows the String Drum entry in Baker's Dictionary of Music. You are able to move backwards or forwards in this book by navigating with the contents on the right or simply scrolling.

You may email a link to this information to yourself by clicking the Email option above the entry. You may see a generated citation by clicking the Cite link.

This database provides APA, MLA, and Chicago Notes and Bibliography citations. However, you should always carefully check the generated citations, as they may not be 100% correct.

Some search results will be musical scores. The Classical Scores Library collection, which can be accessed from the main page, contains more than 24,000 scores. Click the title of a score to view it.

This takes you to the full score. On this page you will be able to email and print the score.

If you decide to choose a collection from the main page of the database instead of searching, there will be an option to search within the collection or browse using options under Refine Your Search.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, also accessible through the main page, is a 10-volume set exploring the world's musical traditions. Both the print volumes and corresponding audio tracks are available to browse or search.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Music Online. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library