Skip to main content

Tutorials

Video tutorials for library research strategies and resources.

Career Transitions Video Tutorial

Career Transitions from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find career information through the library database Career Transitions.

To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

Career Transitions is listed alphabetically on the A-Z Databases page, or under the Career & Vocational Guidance subject category. This database provides information on preparing for employment. To access this database, click its title.

To log in, your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number without the hyphen. Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your 8-digit SF ID number.

Career Transitions contains information about discovering careers and career paths, and writing resumes and cover letters. It also provides access to live job listings. If youd like to see what jobs or careers might match your interests, click the Assess Your Career Interests link.

The career assessment will ask you questions about your interests, and will attempt to determine likely career paths based on your answers.

If you would like to discover possible careers, click the Browse Career Paths link.

You can search a particular career by typing in the search box, or you can browse by career categories.

Career pages will include information about salary, growth, necessary education, and typical activities, and includes the ability to search for job listings.

If you have other work experience, including military experience, you may use the Match Experience to New Careers to learn about new careers that may interest you.

For help with your job search, choose one of the options in the yellow bar located under the search box.

The sections to Write a Resume and Write a Cover Letter will allow you to see examples, read articles, watch videos, and create your own.

The Tips & Advice section provides even more categories from career experts, including information on applying and networking. Categories include articles and videos.

The Interview Simulation allows you to participate in an interactive practice interview, with scoring based on your responses.

You can also search for jobs and internships from the front page. The job listings are taken from Indeed, and you can limit by geographical area. For instance, you can search for coach positions located in Florida.

In order to keep track of your created resumes, cover letters, and assessment results, it is recommended that you create an account. Use the Create an Account link in the upper right corner. You will be able to choose a personal username and password which will connect you to your information for later use.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Career Transitions. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library