Skip to main content

Military History

Books & Articles

Now that you have your search terms and you know how to search, it's time to find books and articles. Both of these resources will help you find more in-depth information about your topic.

Books

Books will provide an in-depth look at a topic, but on a broader scale. However, due to publishing schedules, they may not have the latest information. You will use the library catalog to look up books about specific topics, or you may browse certain areas to find relevant titles.

Browse for books about military history by going to to following call number areas in the Reference Collection (2nd floor) and Circulating Collection (3rd floor). Books in the Reference Collection may be used for in-library-use only but you may copy or scan information. Books in the third floor Circulating Collection may be checked out with an SF ID card.

Call Number Area
Topic
D 25 - 27
General world military and naval history
D 501 - 680
World War I
D 731 - 838
World War II
DS 79.76
Iraq War
DS 371.4
War in Afghanistan
DS 557 - 559.9
Vietnam War
DS 918 - 921.8
Korean War
E 181 - 182
Military and naval history of the United States
E 199
French and Indian War
E 201 - 298
American Revolution
E 351.5 - 364.9
War of 1812
E 401 - 415.2
Mexican-American War
E 461 - 655
Civil War
E 714 - 735
Spanish-American War
E 745 - 746
U.S. military and naval history in the 20th century
U
Military science
UA
Armies
UB 356 - 369.5
Veterans
UG 622 - 1435
Air forces
V
Naval science
VE
Marines

To search for more books, eBooks, and videos about military history, you can use subject headings. Subject headings allow you to find books specifically about a topic. Go to the library catalog, type in the subject, and select Subject Heading.

subject heading = military history

Library Catalog from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will introduce you to using the library catalog to locate items held by the Lawrence W. Tyree Library at Santa Fe College.

To access the Library Catalog, click the Catalog link under the photo of the Library. This will take you to the library catalog's basic search screen.

The catalog has many different ways to search. For information on a topic, choose Keyword. If you know the title or author of an item, choose Title or Author. If you know the Library of Congress subject heading for your topic, choose Subject Heading. Using subject headings will give you more precise search results than using keywords. Most searches will use one of these four search methods.

Let's search for a topic. Since we don't know the Library of Congress subject heading, we are going to do a keyword search. Our topic is wind energy, so type these keywords into the search box and click Search.

The number of matching results is displayed under the search bar.

Icons in each record will show if it is a book, an eBook, or another format such as a streaming video.

Let’s take a look at the result Wind Energy for the Rest of Us: A Comprehensive Guide to Wind Power and How to Use It. We can learn a lot about this item from the results screen by looking at the bottom of its record.

Santa Fe/Northwest Campus Circulating indicates that this book is in our library on the Northwest Campus and is part of the Circulating Collection, meaning that it can be checked out of the library.

Available indicates that this book is available for check out and should be on the shelves. If the book was already checked out, a due date would show here.

To find this book on the shelf, you need its call number. The call number for this book is TJ820 .G562 2016. The call number includes everything from the first letter to the date. To see where this call number is located in the library, click the Map It button.

The map will pop up in new window and shows that this book is located on the 3rd floor. The highlighted area indicates where to find this book on the 3rd floor. All of the books on the 3rd floor may be checked out.

To learn even more about this book, click the title to view the complete record.

The full record contains information about the author, title, and publication information. Some records contain a table of contents and a summary of the item.

Scroll down to the bottom of the record to view the Library of Congress subject headings. These are the more precise terms to search. In this case, the main subject headings are wind power and wind turbines. To get better search results, search one of these terms as a Subject Heading.

The library catalog offers many ways to refine your search. On the left side of the results page, use the options under Format to limit your search to a specific format such as online resources, media, or streaming video. If you choose "streaming video," for example, you will fine many online videos on the topic of wind energy. These and other online resources do require that you login with your Santa Fe account

This concludes the video tutorial on using the library catalog. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

eBooks from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and read eBooks through the library catalog.

To search for eBooks, begin at the library's homepage. To conduct a quick search, select the eBooks tab.

Let's search for eBooks by Jane Austen. Select author from the drop-down menu and type Jane Austen in the search box. You can also change this drop-down menu for other search types including Keyword, Title, and Subject Heading.

You can also search for eBooks in the library catalog by selecting the eBooks tab.

The number of results for this search is shown under the search box. All of the results are eBooks, and have the eBook icon.

From the results page you can access the eBook by selecting Click here to access this eBook, or you can select the title to learn more information about this item. For this example, click the title Northanger Abbey.

The full record contains more details about this eBook. To access the eBook, select the Click here to view this eBook link at the top of the record.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.

For example, if your student ID number is 1234-5678, your Borrower ID would be 12345678 and your PIN would be 5678. If you are unable to log in, please contact the Library for assistance.

Once you log in, a new window will open with the eBook's details. You can read the eBook online by selecting Read Online on the left or by selecting a link in the Table of Contents in the center of the page.

To navigate through the eBook, you can use the arrows in the top right corner or simply scroll through the book. You can also enter a specific page number where the page is displayed, or click on a link in the Table of Contents to jump to a specific page or section.

To search within the eBook, enter your search terms into the search box above the Table of Contents.

You will find many other useful tools on the top toolbar, including the options to add notes and get citations. You can hover over each tool with your cursor to identify the tools available.

This concludes the video tutorial on finding and reading eBooks. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Databases

Library databases contain thousands of sources for you to search. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.

Articles will provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.

These databases are recommended for researching military history. Read the descriptions to locate the best database for your research. Then, click the access link, log in, and search for your topic.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Access Academic Search Complete  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.

JSTOR

Access JSTOR  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)

Access Military & Government Collection  |  How to Cite

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

Films on Demand: Military History Videos

Access Films on Demand  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A collection of military history videos from Films on Demand. Covering military history from ancient times to the present, including tactics and strategy.

History Reference Center (EBSCO)

Access History Reference Center  |  How to Cite

Offers full text from history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from history magazines. The database also contains historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and historical film and video.

Military & Intelligence (Gale)

Access Military & Intelligence   |  How to Cite

Contains journal articles related to the military and the intelligence community.

Many of the databases will have a way for you to limit to peer-reviewed articles. These are articles that are more scholarly and academic, and have undergone a rigorous review process before being published.

Look for a checkbox on the search screen that says scholarly, peer-reviewed, or academic.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly articles that have been indexed by Google. By default, most articles in Google Scholar do not have the full text available. To increase the full-text results, set up Google Scholar to connect to Santa Fe College's database and journal holdings.

  1. Click Settings at the top (the gear icon); this may be under the More menu on the left.
    Settings
  2. Click Library links in the left menu.
    Library links
  3. Search for Santa Fe College - Full Text @ Santa Fe, add a checkmark, and save it.
    Santa Fe College - Full Text @ Santa Fe

Only articles with a link in the right column will have their full text available. Full Text @ Santa Fe means the full text is in a library database.

Full Text @ Santa Fe

If you need access to an article without the full text available, you may request a copy through interlibrary loan.

Research is not done in a vacuum. Research articles will build upon previous work, which allows you to follow a timeline of research.

If you find an article that you like, look at that article's references/citations. You may find more articles that are similar in their research goals and that could be useful. You can then use Google Scholar to locate the full text. For instance, here is a citation of an article about Henrietta Lacks.

Robert D. Truog, Aaron Kesselheim, Steven Joffe, "Paying Patients for Their Tissue: The Legacy of Henrietta Lacks," Science 337, 2012: 37-38.

Input the article title in the Google Scholar search box (be sure that you have already set up your Library Links to connect to Santa Fe College). You may need to add in more information, such as author names, if there are too many irrelevant search results.

Google Scholar search for: paying patients for their tissue: the legacy of henrietta lacks

Look to the right for the full text links. If there is no full text available, you may place an Interlibrary Loan request.

full text options for Google Scholar result highlighted

You may also move forward within the research. In Google Scholar, it will tell you how many articles have cited the article you are looking at. In this case, the article "Paying Patients for Their Tissue" has been cited 32 times.

"Cited by" link highlighted

Click that Cited by link to see articles that have cited this article, along with full text links as needed.

Google Scholar from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access database holdings from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library using Google Scholar.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that allows you to search for scholarly information, including articles, scholarly books, and other types of publications. Not everything indexed in Google Scholar has the full text available. However, you can increase your full-text results by adding Santa Fe College as your library.

To access Google Scholar, direct your Web browser to scholar.google.com.

At the top left of the page, click the three line horizontal icon, and choose Settings. On the next screen, click Library links.

On the Library links page, type Santa Fe College in the search box, and press the Enter key. In the resulting list, select Santa Fe College – Full Text @ Santa Fe, and then click Save.

Saving your settings takes you back to the Scholar search screen. Enter your search statement in the box provided and press the Enter key. For this example, the search statement is “mindfulness meditation” AND anxiety.

The next screen is the results list. If you see a Full Text @ Santa Fe link to the right of an article, the Tyree Library has access to that article. Click the Full Text @ Santa Fe link.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.

You will be taken to the full text of the article. In some databases, you may have to click Full Text links to view the article.

Articles with other links in the far right column are freely available online. As with any link to a file found on the Web, be cautious. If you do not recognize the source of the link, you probably should not click it. Instead, contact a librarian for assistance.

If an article does not have a link in the right column, the full text is not currently available. To request a full-text copy of the article, please contact a librarian.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing the Tyree Library's database holdings through Google Scholar. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library