Need Help?
Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to find books about your country or region. Start by clicking the Library Catalog link on the Library's homepage.
Choose Advanced Search to combine search terms.
In the first box, type the name of your country or region. Choose Subject from the pull-down menu. In the second box, try adding a topic or a subject heading.
Subject Headings
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials in the library catalog. These headings have been split into two categories to facilitate the use of two searches boxes in Advanced Search.
World Region Subject Headings
- Africa
- Caribbean Area
- Central America
- East Asia
- Europe
- Former Soviet Republics
- Middle East
- North America
- Oceania
- South Asia
- South America
Topic Subject Headings
- agriculture
- civilization
- climatic changes
- democratization
- developing countries
- economic conditions
- food supply
- foreign relations
- global environmental change
- globalization
- guidebooks
- history
- manners and customs
- national characteristics
- politics and government
- population
- sex roles
- social conditions
- social life and customs
- urbanization
- water
- water conservation
- women in development
eBooks
The library collection contains many eBooks. You can use the eBooks tab to search only for online books. A general subject or keyword search in the library catalog will display eBooks in the list of results from your search. eBooks include a green Available Online link, which you can click to view the full text.
Reference Books
The L.W. Tyree Library has a reference collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other specialized tools. Below is just a selection of resources that may be useful for this class. These reference books and many others are located on the 2nd floor of the L.W. Tyree Library and are available for in-library use only. You may copy or scan the information you need for later use.
Countries, Peoples & CulturesCall Number: REF GN307 .C46 2015 & eBookClick the title to view all volumes in print and eBook format.
Encyclopedia of GeographyCall Number: REF G63.E554 2010 vol. 1-6With more than 1,200 entries, the Encyclopedia of Geography reflects how the growth of geography has propelled a demand for intermediaries between the abstract language of academia and the ordinary language of everyday life. The six volumes of this encyclopedia encapsulate a very diverse array of topics to offer a comprehensive and useful summary of the state of the discipline in the early 21st century.
Geography Today: An Encyclopedia of Concepts, Issues, and Technology by Call Number: eBook (click title)Geography Today provides a thoughtful and thorough introduction to the study of geography—from maps and technology to the study of different cultures, political systems, and economies, and an investigation of plate tectonics and climate systems.
The Statesman's YearbookCall Number: REF JA51.S7Statistical and historical annual of the states of the world
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily LifeCall Number: REF GN333.W67 2017 & eBook (click title)A four-volume set translating religion into everyday life. Volume 1 has information on major religious groups, while volumes 2-4 give country breakdowns.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the NationsCall Number: eBook (click title)Presents easy-to-understand information on more than 200 countries and dependencies from around the world in 5 volumes.
Browsing Guide
Use the following call number areas to browse for books in the Circulating Collection on the third floor.
Using the UF Libraries
The University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries has many resources that may be helpful to you in researching your topic. You may check out ten books for free with your SF ID card. Please complete the Access to Library Services Application two business days prior to visiting.
To get there from Santa Fe College, take RTS bus route 43, which picks up at S building and passes by Library West. You may ride for free with your SF ID card.
You may also request any book that we do not own by filling out an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form or requesting a book via UBorrow. This is free for you, but may take a week or two to fulfill, so plan accordingly.