Need Help?
Other Languages
This page provides resources to help you learn world languages not listed elsewhere in this guide. Subscription resources will require you to log in.
Books & Media
To search for books about various languages at the Tyree Library, search ___ language (e.g., Russian language) as a Subject in the library catalog.
To limit your results to media, change the All formats option to Videos or Audio. You can also browse the International Films guide, which lists films from Africa, the Americas, Asia, and Europe.
Use the following call number areas to browse for books and media in the Circulating Collection (3rd floor).
Looking for a language not listed about? View the full Library of Congress Classification outline [PDF] to find your language.
Access world language videos now
The Films on Demand database provides streaming videos that address culture and language within other countries.
Mango Languages
Mango Languages is a library database that allows you to learn more than 70 languages. Interactive lessons combine audio and text, and some languages include full-length movies.
Websites
The following websites may be useful to you. These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
General
- Digital DialectsGames to learn languages; some have audio. Requires Flash.
- ForvoWords pronounced by native speakers. Includes most of the world's languages.
- Google TranslateUse to translate words, phrases, and websites.
- LingroMakes words on a website clickable, and then provides a definition.
- ReversoFree online translation.
- RhinoSpikeListen to foreign language words and phrases pronounced by a native speaker.
- ToucanA browser extension that translates words as you browse the internet.
- WordReferenceOnline dictionary for many languages.
- Woxikon: The Online DictionaryIncludes a dictionary, abbreviations, conjugations, synonyms and more.
Social Language Learning
These free sites let you interact with native speakers and with others learning different languages; all require free registration.
Multilingual Websites
- BBC LanguagesThis site is no longer being updated, but the archived content includes good basics for learning many foreign languages.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldAn encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages.
- iMendiFlashcards to practice vocabulary in 8 languages.
- International Children's Digital LibraryChildren's books in many different languages.
- MemriseHas 200 languages, each with different levels of courses.
- Project GutenbergFree online books in many different languages.
- The Rosetta ProjectAn ongoing attempt to archive all human languages.