Skip to main content

Faculty Services

An overview of the library services available to faculty at Santa Fe College.

Classroom Collection Request

Faculty Requests for Classroom Collection Materials

The Classroom Collection consists of VHS, DVDs, and CDs for faculty to use in their courses. You may search this collection in the online catalog This link opens in a new window. Faculty may request items by using the form below. Faculty will be notified when requested items are available for pick up at the Circulation Desk. Faculty may authorize another SF faculty, staff, or student to retrieve requested materials. Those authorized to retrieve requested materials must present their own SF ID cards.

  1. Choose Advanced Search.
  2. Under Format, choose Video (all formats)
  3. Type your search term(s) in the box(es) provided.
  4. Click Start.

Alternately, use the Quick Media Search box:

Faculty may borrow Classroom Collection items for a renewable two-week period.

Students and staff may borrow Classroom Collection items for in-house use only.

Please submit requests for Classroom Collection items as far in advance as possible to increase the likelihood materials will be available.

We will make every effort to fill requests. However, we cannot guarantee the availability of Classroom Collection items.

Non-requested Classroom Collection items will be checked out on a first come first served basis.

In the event two or more faculty members request the same Classroom Collection item, priority will be given to the earliest request.

Please be aware

DVD and VHS films checked out of the Library are not for public viewing.

Fair use of DVDs and VHS films applies only in the case of direct classroom instruction—the film may be viewed only in the classroom, shown only to the registered students in the class, and must be a systematic part of the class, mentioned in the syllabus. It is a violation of copyright for a faculty member to open the film viewing to anyone not enrolled in the class.

If faculty or school organizations plan to show a movie outside the regular classroom environment, they must observe copyright and purchase public viewing rights.

If you have any questions you may call the Circulation Desk at 352-395-5412. If you have any questions about searching the collection, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409.