Skip to main content

Faculty Services

An overview of the library services available to faculty at Santa Fe College.

Embed the Library in Canvas

The Library has many different ways you can embed library content directly into your Canvas course, in order to provide resources and virtual instruction to your students right in their class:

Curriculum Builder: Create Reading Lists

Use the Library on Demand: Curriculum Builder tool to create reading lists for your class, including one-click access to journal articles.

In a module, click the + button and choose External Tool. Click Library on Demand: Curriculum Builder.

+ Button to Add Content

External Tool > Library on Demand: Curriculum Builder

The default screen is a search box where you can search the majority of library databases and eBooks. In the results, click the Add to Reading List button to add an article or eBook.

Add to Reading List in search results

To organize your list or add notes and external links, click the See Current Reading List link at the top. You will be able to add a webpage URL, add text instructions or notes, add notes specifically to a resource, rearrange the list, and create folders.

See Current Reading List

Options in Reading List

After creating your list, make sure it is published. You can use Canvas's Student View to see the list as a student will. You can create multiple lists, and rename them as you wish (e.g. Module 1 Reading).

You can view a tutorial on using Curriculum Builder below.

This video will show you how to use the Library on Demand: Curriculum Builder feature in Canvas to easily create reading lists for your students.

Curriculum Builder allows you to search and link to the vast repository of online resources that the library has available, including eBooks, streaming videos, and most of the articles held in the Santa Fe College library databases. These reading lists will be embedded directly in your Canvas modules, giving students free access with just one click.

To begin creating a reading list in a Canvas class, use the Add Item option in the destination module.

Choose to add an External Tool and then select Library on Demand: Curriculum Builder.

Once you click the Library on Demand link, a URL and Page Name field will be populated. The default page name for all reading lists is Library on Demand: Curriculum Builder. You may rename the list here, or may rename later within the module itself. Once you are ready, click the Add Item button.

In this example, the reading list has been named Week 1 Readings. Click the list link to begin to customize your list.

The default screen when an instructor clicks the link is the search box to look for materials. This tool allows you to find eBooks, streaming videos, and articles from most library databases. You can also see the current list by clicking the link above the search box.

The search box is a basic search that allows you to search by keyword, author, or title. You can limit your search by using the facets on the left. Example limits include peer-reviewed journal or other source types, subjects, years, and content providers.

To add any result to your reading list, simply click the Add to Reading List button. This will then turn into a Remove from Reading List button, in case you added it in error.

When you are ready to customize your reading list, click the See Current Reading List link at the top.

From this page, you may go back to the search by clicking Search Library Resources. You also have the ability to Add a Folder, Add Text, or Add a Web Resource.

Folders allow you to organize your reading list by topic, group, or another organizational method. Text allows you to provide instructions or clarification. Web resources allow you to include external URLs.

You may reorder your reading list by dragging and dropping the vertical double arrow in the left heading.

You may also add notes to particular readings with the Add Notes field.

If you have added Folders, you will see the option to add a reading to a folder on the right.

To see the list as a student would, go to Settings and then choose Student View. Be sure you have published the list.

Upon clicking the reading list, students will see folders, notes, and added resources in the order you gave them.

Items with a Full Text icon may be clicked and read immediately, without requiring a log in. Items with a Full Text Finder icon will require students to use their library log on.

To log in, the Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number without the hyphen. Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your 8-digit SF ID number. This applies to both faculty and students.

Once a reading list is live, the reading list will keep track of which students have accessed the list as well as particular readings.

You are able to create as many reading lists as you wish within your course, and you can also import a list from a previous list.

If you see error messages or are unable to access a resource, please let us know. Curriculum Builder brings together resources for many different companies and products, and sometimes we may need to update settings.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Curriculum Builder. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library

Films on Demand

The Library's streaming video database, Films on Demand, contains thousands of documentaries and educational videos that can be embedded within Canvas.

From any screen with the edit bar (such as a page, assignment, or announcement), click the Films on Demand icon. You may need to click a blue V icon to see more options.

Films on Demand icon

V icon

You will then be able to search for relevant videos. Click the Embed button next to a video to embed it into Canvas.

Embed option

Request a Module

If you have a research assignment, you can request a specialized research module created by the librarians to support your assignment. Modules will focus on relevant skills and resources to support your students, and an optional quiz can be included. Sample topics include: using the library catalog; choosing databases; using a specific database; academic sources; evaluating web resources; and citing sources.

To request a module, choose the Canvas Embedded Librarian option on the Library Instruction Request form.

Canvas Commons: Build Your Own Library Modules

The Library has created a number of online lessons available to be imported into Canvas. You can create your own library module by choosing the most relevant lessons for your class. If you'd like a customized module or lessons for your class, you make a request through the Library Instruction Form and choose Canvas Embedded Librarian.

Accessing Canvas Commons

To access Canvas Commons, log in to Canvas, and then click the Commons icon in the left navigation bar.

Commons icon

The first time you access Canvas Commons, you will need to authorize the access.

Searching for SF Library Lessons

There are several collections of materials available for you to search.

Search uPick to see general library lessons, covering topics such as books, databases, evaluating websites, citations, and more.

uPick Library Module

Search Business Research Toolbox to see library lessons specifically geared for business programs.

Business Research Toolbox

Importing Into Your Classes

Once you find a relevant lesson, check the class(es) you wish to add it to, and then click the Import Into Course button.

Import into Courses

Updates

If a lesson has been updated, you will see a notification upon entering Canvas Commons.

Update notification

Click the Updates link to see what has changed. To update the lessons in your classes, click the Update button.

Update link