Need Help?
MLA Citations
The MLA Handbook (call number LB2369 .M52 2021) is the official guide to MLA style. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library-use. You may also access the MLA Handbook Plus online, which contains the full text of the MLA Handbook, plus other resources.
The following links and tutorials will help you create MLA citations for the sources you need to cite.
More Resources
Example Citations
Book
Citation Components
- Author: Todd DeMitchell
- Title: The challenges of mandating school uniforms in the public schools : free speech, research, and policy
- Publisher: Rowman and Littlefield
- Publication Date: 2015
MLA Works Cited
DeMitchell, Todd. The Challenges of Mandating School Uniforms in the Public Schools: Free Speech, Research, and Policy. Rowman and Littlefield, 2015.
In-Text Citation
(DeMitchell16)
Video Tutorial
Chapter in an Edited Book
Citation Components
- Author(s) of Chapter: Daniel L. Stufflebeam
- Title of Chapter: Institutionalizing Evaluation in Schools
- Page Range: 97-114
- Editor of Book: Thomas Kellaghan
- Title of Book: Springer International Handbooks of Education
- Publication Date: 2003
- Publisher: Springer Press
MLA Works Cited
Stufflebeam, Daniel L. "Institutionalizing Evaluation in Schools" Springer International Handbooks of Education, edited by Thomas Kellaghan, Springer Press, 20103, pp. 97–114.
In-Text Citation
(Stufflebeam)
Video Tutorial
eBook
Citation Components
- Author(s): Roland Maiuro
- Title: Perspectives on Bullying : Research on Childhood, Workplace, and Cyberbullying.
- Publisher: Springer Publishing
- Publication Date: 2015
- eBook Database Name: Proquest
- Permalink: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4107862
MLA Works Cited
Maiuro, Roland. Perspectives on Bullying: Research on Childhood, Workplace, and Cyberbullying. Springer, 2015. Proquest, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4107862.
In-Text Citation
(Maiuro)
Video Tutorial
Journal Article
Citation Components
- Authors: Mark Atkins, Mary McKay, Stacy Frazier, Lara Jakobsons, Patrice Arvanitis, Tim Cunningham, Katherine Brown and Linda Lambrecht.
- Article Title: Suspensions and detentions in an urban, low-income school: punishment or reward?
- Journal Title: Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology
- Volume number: 30
- Issue number: 4
- Pages: 361-371
- Publication Date: 2002
- Database: Academic Search Complete
- DOI or Permalink: 10.1080/01972243.2013.856362
*DOIs can be found in the database record or on the front page of the article. If there is no DOI, use the permalink.
MLA Works Cited (with DOI)
Atkins, Marc S., et al. "Suspensions and Detentions in an Urban, Low-Income School: Punishment or Reward?" Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, vol. 30, no. 4, Aug. 2002, pp. 361–371. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.1080/01972243.2013.856362.
MLA Works Cited (no DOI)
Atkins, Marc S., et al. "Suspensions and Detentions in an Urban, Low-Income School: Punishment or Reward?" Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, vol. 30, no. 4, Aug. 2002, pp. 361–371. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=7197330&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
In-Text Citations
(Atkins et al 365)
Video Tutorial
Web Page
Citation Components
- Author: Ed Finkel
- Web Page Title: Teens Take on Day Care -- on Their Own School Grounds
- Website Title: Edutopia
- Sponsor: George Lucas Educational Foundation
- Publication Date: August 31, 2009
- URL of Web Page: https://www.edutopia.org/day-care-deer-park
Leave off any components you do not have, such as sponsors or dates.
MLA Works Cited
Finkel, Ed. "Teens Take on Day Care -- On Their Own School Grounds." Edutopia, George Lucas Educational Foundation, 31 Aug. 2009, www.edutopia.org/day-care-deer-park.
In-Text Citation
(Finkel)