ENG0089 - English 4 - Green

Articles will provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.

Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.

Access Academic Search Complete  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

This is a full-text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas, what makes it a great place to start research on any topic.

You can also add on additional databases to expand your search by clicking Choose Databases:

Some potential databases to add on based on your topic:

• Business - Business Source Complete
• Education - Education Source
• Environmental - GreenFILE
• Health - CINAHL Complete
• Psychology - APA PsycArticles
• Science - Applied Science & Technology Source

Access JSTOR  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.

Access NewsBank  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A collection of newspapers from the United States. Great for finding the latest news about certain issues, as well as looking back to see news articles from the last two decades. Includes the Gainesville Sun. See also NewsBank's Special Reports for a collection of newspaper articles on topics of current interest.

Access Opposing Viewpoints  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

This database provides information on social issues and other hot topics. Results include pro and con essays, topic overviews, statistics, newspaper, magazine, and journal articles and more.