Your Librarian
diana.matthews@sfcollege.edu
Finding Journal Articles
The following databases will help you locate journal articles about historical theater. Here are some suggested search terms:
- Early modern English drama
- Elizabethan drama
- Theater production & direction
- Original practices
- Shakespeare
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowArticles covering all aspects of the humanities, including literature, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, performing arts, and religion. In addition to articles, it includes interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text, academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including African-American studies, anthropology, education, mathematics, history, and more. Also includes an image search This link opens in a new window.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
Reference Books
Reference books can be found in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Library. They do not check out, but you may scan and email information for free at our BookScan Stations. Use the call numbers to locate the books.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama: An International Reference Work in 5 volumes by Call Number: PN1625.M3 1984See: "English Drama" (pp. 82-90)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Call Number: PN2035.O94 2003See: "Elizabethan Stage Society" (p. 420)
See: "Early Modern Period in Europe" (pp. 404-406)
Circulating Books
Circulating books are located on the third floor of the Library and may be checked out with your SF ID card. Use the call numbers to locate the books.
The Culture of Playgoing in Shakespeare's England: A Collaborative Debate by Call Number: PR3095.D38 2001
Elizabethan Stage Conditions: A Study of Their Place in the Interpretation of Shakespeare's Plays by Call Number: PR3095.B65 1968
From Text to Performance in the Elizabethan Theatre: Preparing the Play for the Stage by Call Number: PN2589.B73 1991
The Globe Guide to Shakespeare: The Plays, the Productions, the Life by Call Number: PR2987.D52 2016
The Reader's Encyclopedia of World Drama by Call Number: PN1625 .G3 1969See: "Elizabethan Drama" (pp. 210-214)
Rehearsing Shakespeare: Ways of Approaching Shakespeare in Practice for Actors, Directors and Trainers by Call Number: PR3091 .R83 2021
Renaissance Drama in Action: An Introduction to Aspects of Theatre Practice and Performance by Call Number: PN2581.W43 1998
Shakespeare's Auditory Worlds: Hearing and Staging Practices, Then and Now by Call Number: PR3091 .S676 2021
Shakespeare's Authentic Performance Texts: The Case for Staging from the First Folio by Call Number: PR3091 .W388 2015
Shakespearean Playhouses: A History of English Theatres From the Beginnings to the Restoration. by Call Number: PN2596 .L6 A55 1960
Theatre, Court and City, 1595-1610: Drama and Social Space in London by Call Number: PR658.S47 D55 2000
The Voice of Elizabethan Stage Directions: The Evolution of a Theatrical Code by Call Number: PR658.S59 M38 1999
eBooks
eBooks may be read completely online. Click the title to log in and access the full text.
Actors and Acting in Shakespeare's Time: The Art of Stage Playing by Call Number: eBook (click title)
The Practical Shakespeare: The Plays in Practice and on the Page by Call Number: eBook (click title)
MLA Citations
The MLA Handbook (call number LB2369 .M52 2021) is the official guide to MLA style. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available for check out and for in-library use. The following resources will help you create MLA citations for the sources you use in your paper.