Your Librarian
Diana Matthews
she/hers
Contact:
Y-227 (Library, NW Campus)
diana.matthews@sfcollege.edu
diana.matthews@sfcollege.edu
352-395-5408
Need Help?
Databases
The following library database provides information about careers and industries, as well as helpful tips for job hunting, such as resumes and cover letters.
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource for career exploration and educational planning. Includes profession profiles, school finder, career assessment, career profile videos, as well as sample résumés and cover letters.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
Searching for Books
For more books about exploring careers, use the following subject headings in the library catalog. Books in the second floor Reference Collection are for in-library-use only. Books in the third floor Circulating Collection may be checked out.
General Titles
Use the listed call numbers to locate books. Unless otherwise noted, books will be on the third floor of the Library and may be checked out. eBooks are online books. Click the title and log in to read the book online.
Bound-for-Career Guidebook: A Student Guide to Career Exploration, Decision Making, and the Job Search by Call Number: eBook (click title)
The Career Code: Must-Know Rules for a Strategic, Stylish, and Self-Made Career by Call Number: HF5386.K328 2016 & eBook (click title)
Career Errors: Straight Talk about the Steps and Missteps of Career Development by Call Number: HF5381.B7923 2014
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational GuidanceCall Number: REF HF5381 .E52 2018 (2nd floor, Reference Collection)
Graduate to a Great Career: How Smart Students, New Graduates and Young Professionals Can Launch Brand You by Call Number: HD6277.K367 2016
Graduate to a Great Job: Make Your College Degree Pay Off in Today's Market by Call Number: HF5382.7.D414 2013
Leave Your Mark: Land Your Dream Job. Kill it in Your Career. Rock Social Media by Call Number: HF5381.L453 2015
The New Rules of Work: The Modern Playbook for Navigating Your Career by Call Number: HF5381.C398 2017.
Occupational Outlook HandbookCall Number: REF HF5382.5.U5 O33 2018 (2nd floor, Reference Collection) & eBook (click title)
This Is How to Get Your Next Job: An Inside Look at What Employers Really Want by Call Number: HF5382.7.K39 2013
What Color Is Your Parachute? A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers by Call Number: HF5382.7.B64 2018
Specialized Career Paths
The Artist's Compass: The Complete Guide to Building a Life and a Living in the Performing Arts by Call Number: PN1580.M55 2016
Becoming a Video Game Artist: From Portfolio Design to Landing the Job by Call Number: N7433.83.P42 2017
The Best Jobs in the Music Industry: Straight Talk From Successful Music Pros by Call Number: ML3795.R414 2013
Burn Your Portfolio: Stuff They Don't Teach You in Design School, But Should by Call Number: NC590.J363 2013
Careers in Law, Criminal Justice and Emergency Services by Call Number: KF297.C375 2014 & eBook (click title)
The Ultimate Freelancer's Guidebook: Learn How to: Land the Best Jobs, Build Your Brand, Be Your Own Boss by Call Number: HD8036.B53 2016
The World's Your Stage: How Performing Artists Can Make a Living While Still Doing What They LoveCall Number: PN1580 .B35 2015 & eBook (click title)
Career/Workplace Advice for Specific Groups
Asperger's Syndrome Workplace Survival Guide: A Neurotypical's Secrets for Success by Call Number: HV1568.5.B547 2013
Down Range: A Transitioning Veteran's Career Guide to Life's Next PhaseCall Number: UB357 .M384 2014 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)
The Encore Career Handbook: How to Make a Living and a Difference in the Second Half of Life by Call Number: HF5384.A43 2013
Out of Uniform: Your Guide to a Successful Military-to-Civilian Career Transition by Call Number: UB357.W64 2018
Professionalism/Business Etiquette
Corporate Survival Guide for Your Twenties: A Guide to Help You Navigate the Business World by Call Number: HF5381 .B725 2016
The Essentials of Business Etiquette: How to Greet, Eat, and Tweet Your Way to Success by Call Number: HF5387.P333 2013
Excuse Me: The Survival Guide to Modern Business Etiquette by Call Number: HF5387 .T476 2017 & eBook (click title)
Poised for Success: Mastering the Four Qualities That Distinguish Outstanding Professionals by Call Number: HF5389.W485 2011
The Simple Art of Business Etiquette: How to Rise to the Top by Playing Nice by Call Number: HF5389.S44 2015
The Young Professional's Survival Guide: From Cab Fares to Moral Snares by Call Number: BJ1725.G86 2012
